pbandj1011

Christians Can Be Cool Too!!!

In Uncategorized on February 22, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Joy and I just read an article on NPR about the budding Christian movie industry. An industry based on faith. It sounds good in principle, but I think maybe the point has been missed. Hollywood is definitely over sexualized, and I wish that violence wasnt rampant in movies, and though I usually enjoy a well-placed curse word it gets pretty ridiculous in main-stream movies. But I digress. Is the bigger issue at hand that we should spend 200 million dollars on a blockbuster about being a good person? A better citizen? Should we be making high budget movies to promote the values of conservative suburban culture? I just dont think that big budget movie making really fits in to the culture of the Kingdom. Its not that I think that filmmaking is irrelevant to the cause of Christ, because God gives different gifts to different people. What I’m saying is while we have people aspiring to spend an ungodly amount of money on “Christian” movies, we have teenagers who wont care either way, because they have no clear purpose in life. When their church actively promotes this new wholesome movie that everyone should go see, it only feeds into the idea that the most important things in life is getting entertained. The Way is degenerated from taking up your cross to spending 9 dollars on a Christian movie friday night.  It may seem that I am overreacting, but I get upset about this.  I think that it would be much more productive to stop complaining about movies that offend us and start loving people. Lets look at the deeper issues.

I finally blogged. Its not perfect, but I’m going to let it go and hit publish. It needs to happen…

“…I think St. Peter and the twelve apostles would have been rather surprised at the concept that Christ had been scourged and beaten by soldiers, cursed and crowned with thorns and subjected to unutterable contempt and finally nailed to a cross and left to bleed to death in order that we might all become gentlemen” – Thomas Merton

– Phillip

Leave a Reply

