pbandj1011

So…

In Uncategorized on February 22, 2009 at 7:47 am

It is a few minutes after midnight. As I lay in bed I’m watching candles flicker all around me. The light is dancing against the walls in beautiful lines. The soft sounds of the Album Leaf playing seem to dance with the flickers of light. I am filled at present with more questions than answers. Just tonight I had a friend share that she is struggling with her faith. As I listened to her and watched emotions play across her face I could tell that she was being very honest and going through something difficult. What happens when your faith has been the core of who you are and suddenly you feel it begin to dry up? I was not sure what to tell her. She was reluctant to share freely because she said she did not want to confuse any other Christians. What good am I though if I cannot stand with someone and allow them to share and possibly shake me? If all of this is true, and I believe it is, then it will not fall away.

I feel safe here in my room. Safe in the soft light and sweet music. Outside though are many people who do not feel the same  sense of safety. People who are questioning their beliefs and scared. People who do not even dream of questioning. People who have given up on the questions. My heart goes out to all these people who have no candles flickering in their lives. What is the light that will give them hope? What is the music that will make their heart sing?

Leave a Reply

