pbandj1011

Academic Flu

In Uncategorized on March 31, 2009 at 9:43 pm

I have been hit with a case of the academic flu…it’s rather terrible. I seem to get it once or twice a year when school is at its most busy and overwhelming point. The academic flu usually involves the following symptoms:

1) A book that I want to read enters my home.

2) I pick up the book casually and say I’ll read the first chapter over dinner…after all how can I type papers while I am eating?

3) The first chapter is never enough. I get sick immediately. Sick with the need to keep reading. Two hours will tick by. With each passing hour I will say at the end of this chapter I’m going to turn to my school work.

4) The symptoms come on a night when my husband has gone to hang out with a friend and is therefore not home to keep me accountable to my  school work.

This is the type of strain I get most often. Sometimes when new birds migrate to Richmond I get a case of needing to go visit friends during finals. This does not happen as often. Not sure why this is. I don’t have a vacination for this strain. Come to think of it I don’t have any academic flu vaccinations. I guess I’d rather have the academic flu every once and awhile versus mercury poisoning. Either way I’m sick. I’ve got a case of “First They Killed My Father” flu.

Leave a Reply

