pbandj1011

Tattoo dreams

In Uncategorized on July 30, 2009 at 3:17 pm

Random thought of the day…and also a quick distraction on my analysis of an NGO hospital in Santo Domingo:

Tattoos.

I love them.

I am working on said paper in a local coffee shop here in Richmond called Crossroads that always guarantees me a continual display of some of Richmond’s most creative and elaborate tattoos. I see these people with all of their great tattoos and I am reminded yet again that I would really love to have a couple of tattoos. I already have them planned out actually.

The problem is that me getting a tattoo creates a personal, ethical conflict. My understanding is that tattoos cost a good amount of money. Money that could be spent on much more important things… such as helping those who are simply hoping to eat today, or my friends who are in missions all around the world…much more important things for sure. I will probably never have a half sleeve and this is why. I sometimes wonder if it would be okay to splurge for a birthday or some other special occasion. I just don’t know. We’ll have to see won’t we.

Until then I will simply enjoy the tattoos of the girl standing behind the counter.

Leave a Reply

