pbandj1011

two weekends ago

In Uncategorized on November 30, 2009 at 8:54 pm

I had a pretty great weekend:

– I came home to Phil on Friday night.

– We made our favorites…sauteed mushrooms in garlic and olive oil tossed over mushroom and provolone stuffed ravioli. We ate it in our bed and were so tired to honestly considered going to sleep for the night. It is 6:30 pm.

– We took turns playing our harmonica badly and laughing to inspire us to stay awake.

– We bought kombucha and the first two seasons (it was a box set for cheap!) of Alias so that I could introduce Phil to one of my favorite teen guilty pleasures. I think my friends and I even made a copy cat video in high school. Yes, we were that awesome.

– We slept in to around 10 am…a rarity. We hung around our home and enjoyed a breakfast of oatmeal with strawberries. I enjoyed another chapter of “the life you’ve always wanted”. I am working on getting better at meditating on the words of God. The book suggests having one passage that you recite to yourself throughout the day. So far I am better at picking out a passage then meditating on it all  day.

– Phil and I made a wonderful lunch. asparagus panninis and homemade fries. Once again we ate in bed, one of our classics, and I literally spilled my lunch all over myself. It was a mess. Once we got it all cleaned up Phil commented that at least I had yet to pour ketchup onto my plate. Finding thankfulness in the little things.

– I called Allison to see if she wanted to tackle homework together. We met at Crossroads, had some chai, and headed for the library. We spent half our time working and the other half talking. Thanks to budget cuts we discovered that our library now closes at 6pm on Saturdays. In the spirit of getting kicked out we decided to pretend like we did not have a couple more papers to write and instead get take-out and watch movies all night at her place. It was glorious. I never get to spend enough time with Allison, but I am thankful that whenever we do get together we have a great time of friendship.

– Phil was so enthralled by the cozy atmosphere when he arrived from hanging out with his friends that he decided to stay…we didn’t get home till after 1am. Sometimes I forget that I know how to stay up that late.

– Sunday morning we did something that we never do. We slept in and did not go to the morning church service. It was honestly great and needed. I feel that sometimes we get so stuck in our routines that we can lose sight of the Sabbath. I don’t think God ever intended this to happen. God created the Sabbath for us, not us for the Sabbath. Thanks Lord.

– During all our morning time Phil and I cleaned our home and made homemade cheddar and garlic rolls. I love the way baking makes my home smell. When it happens around the holidays it is even better.

– After the biscuits were done we headed to our first of two potlucks for the day. The first one was with all of Phil’s family. The food was good. We were blessed with wonderful in-laws that are very accommodating to our vegetarian lifestyle.

– Quickly after the potluck I fell asleep for an hour. There is nothing like Sunday afternoon naps, except for Sunday afternoon naps when you do not have homework to do.

– Around four, Phil and I met Alex to get ready for our last small group for the semester. It was both a great ending and a beginning. It was wonderful to hear people share ways God has changed their hearts about race and racism. I have learned so much more than I expected over the past few months in this group. I am so excited to see how God will continue to work in all of us at Cornerstone in terms of racial reconciliation. We spent time in prayer for how God might be leading each of us to step out in the church. All around the room I heard people dreaming of ways to spread the conversation with the rest of our Cornerstone family. We decided to keep meeting next semester to focus on praying for racial reconciliation. We ended with communion, toasting together with God his/her great work that is being done and that we have the honor of participating in.

– Our night ended with a Love Feast at Common Ground. It was a great time of celebrating Jesus and what he/she is doing in our lives. We took time to laugh, confide, and encourage each other. It did not hurt that the food was great either.

I am so thankful for all the wonderful family God has put into Phil and I’s life. I would never know God and grow in knowing him/her if it were not for these people. At the same time if it were not for God my relationships would never be this sweet. Living under the mercy and love. There is nothing like it.

Leave a Reply

