pbandj1011

sewn together.

In Uncategorized on December 26, 2009 at 11:00 pm

My sowing machine. This machine represents dreams that have existed since I was a child in the single digits. In third grade I began designing clothes. I had books filled with my drawings. Instead of cartoons I watched Fashion File on E! every Saturday morning. My mom knew how to sew. She used to make my sister and I matching outfits when we were kids. My sister hated it. I liked anything my sister hated. I never got the chance to learn from my mom, but still I kept on designing through my teens. Even in my twenties I have pulled out paper to design a wedding gown for a friend. I always dreamed of designing and making my own wedding gown.

Time has come and gone. I did not get to make my own wedding gown…I did not know how to sew and it would not have been good; perhaps a preview of the wedding night for everyone at the wedding. It is not that I couldn’t have learned before the wedding. I received the above sewing machine a good three years ago, if not four. I had it and I was intimidated by it. Eventually I took it over to Phillip’s parents house and for a couple of years I would remark to my now mother-in-law “Sometime over break, or next month, or whenever I am going to come over for a sewing lesson”. Jeanne would laugh and say that would be fine. I would smile and never follow through.

Flash forward to Christmas time this year. Phillip and I are still developing our own Christmas traditions. We are still seeking God about what this time of year is supposed to look like because much of what we see around us feels wrong. It is not that I do not agree with giving gifts. Generosity it wonderful…but I think it is clear that we have gone overboard as a society. In the midst of all the clamor there are so many people around the world barely surviving. Phillip and I are by no means rich, but we and our family have more than 90% of the world will ever know. With this in mind we felt compelled to halt the massive gift giving. We asked our parents to not give us anything or to donate to chosen charities (they did not exactly listen but that is another story), we wrote all our family members personal cards, and we gave money to people who have need of it. We did however give each other some gifts. One tradition that we started last year was to give each other an experience and something that we needed. So this year Phillip got some new underwear. I got socks. I have not figured out Phillip’s experience yet, plus I could not share it on here. Last year though it was the Monument Avenue 10k. I trained and ran with him.

This year my experience gift came early. A few days ago Phil kicked me out of the bedroom and told me he had to set up my experience. When it was all ready I walked in and saw my sewing machine on the desk. Phil shared that he knew making clothes was a dream I had always had but struggled to pursue so he was here to help me. Unbeknownst to me Phil had received sewing lessons from his mother so that he could teach me. Despite the bobbin clocking my life I have begun sewing. I am almost done with my first pair of pants. They will probably not be worn in public ever, but that is okay. If I ever dress up for Halloween as a character from Rocky and Bullwinkle then I am uber prepared though.

I have to say that this gift from Phil reminded me why I am so thankful to God. God knew that I would not pursue this dream on my own, so he/she gave me a partner. All of us need help in pursuing our dreams. Phil’s gift reminded me of the beautiful gift we have to walk alongside and encourage the persons in our lives in their dreams and the blessing of being the person encouraged. It is not just a gift it also a calling. It is community. I pray that we all will be sewn together into a beautiful, patchwork quilt.

A big thank you to Phil for teaching me these things through your actions. A bigger thank you to God for creating Phil and everything else.

  1. Of course, Darlin. Thank you for pushing me into my dreams as well. I cant go any further alone after all.

Leave a Reply

