pbandj1011

down with the veggie flavors.

In Uncategorized on March 25, 2010 at 8:36 pm

I realized while on Spring Break last week that I have been a vegetarian for three years now. Three years ago my dear friend Rebecca and I were having all sorts of adventures on the Appalachian Trail, and later marching on the Pentagon against the war…and in the midst of it I was choosing to not eat meat. I distinctly remember sitting in a cafe outside of Harrisonburg looking over the menu, and thinking about how there was nothing for me to eat. It is only when you give up something when you realize how prevalent it really is.  Why do most of our meals have to involve meat? In many parts of the world impoverished people get meat maybe once a week. Meanwhile we feed the animals we will eventually slaughter to eat, millions of pounds of grains each year. Grain that could be feeding those people who only get meat once a week. Unless God directs me otherwise I will never eat meat again. I simply cannot be okay with this sense of entitlement.

Leave a Reply

