pbandj1011

Potato goodness

In Uncategorized on April 20, 2010 at 9:10 pm

It has been awhile since I posted on one of my favorite topics- food. Tonight’s dinner though has left me no choice, because I want everyone to experience the deliciousness. I rarely cook from a recipe so you will not find this recipe to be very precise in terms of measurements; instead I made it up as I went. The concoction included:

Baked Russet potatoes (I baked them the way the first thing that popped under the google search bar for “how to bake a potato” told me- If the link involves pictures and not wrapping the potatoes in foil then you probably have the right one)

Sweet onions that I tossed in olive oil and salt and roasted in foil beside the potatoes.

After the potatoes and onions had cooked for an hour and fifteen minutes I took them out. I then opened up the potatoes and sprinkled them with cheddar cheese. Next came the onions (they will make your home smell like a Cuban restaurant just so you know). I then split a fresh avocado between Phil and I.  Local black bean salsa and local green onions came next (Thank you Whole Foods and Ellwoods). The finishing touch was sour cream and a sprinkle of salt and pepper.

You should eat this sometime. It was so good I do not even know what to do with myself. I would have taken a picture, but I was too hungry. Happy eating!!

In other food news, I am excited to share that I think this is the year Phil and I will make the leap to year- round gardening. Before we became interested in the local and organic food movement I thought you could only grow during the summertime. I now know this is not true. We will be moving into a new place right in time to plant food for the fall, winter, and spring. I cannot wait to learn more, and eat more food that comes from my own yard.

Leave a Reply

