pbandj1011

absurd peace

In Uncategorized on August 10, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Like many of you I have been incredibly saddened to listen to the news of the 10 aid workers that were recently murdered in Afghanistan. I think of all the good they were doing, and how vicious a person must be to simply take their lives. To be honest fear begins to well up in me as well. I start to think that perhaps the hard work of peace and love is not worth it. That those who do this work will more often than not wind up with a bullet in their head. I begin to question whether I would ever be brave enough to follow God into such a journey of faith, love, and compassion. I doubt my heart. I doubt my sincerity. I doubt basically everything.

This morning though as I was reading my Bible I came across a verse in Proverbs chapter 6, where the author is talking about things that God hates. As I read down the list I came to “hands that shed innocent blood”. I immediately thought of not only the recent murderous actions of the Taliban against these aid workers, but also the US’s actions against civilians there. Of the untold number of innocents that have been murdered with our tax dollars. I was reminded that God hates all of this. God hates it because it has nothing to do with who he/she is-  love. How can you love someone and kill them? It is not possible. That is why when I came across the quote below today I was reminded again why this all is worth it. Why we must live with sincerity, and be willing to lay down our lives for love and peace. Simply put, it is the way of Jesus. And it is the only thing that has given the world hope, and the only thing that can. It is absurd, and makes little sense to any of us (including myself often). But it is the way God chose to save us, and I choose to trust in it.

“Peace is not merely a distant goal that we seek but a means by which we arrive at the goal.
Through violence you can murder a murderer but cannot murder murder.
Through violence you can murder a liar but you cannot establish truth.
Through violence you can murder a hater but you cannot murder hate.
Darkness cannot put out darkness; only light can do that.

We will not build a peaceful world by following a negative path. It is not enough to say we should not wage war, it is necessary to love peace and sacrifice for it. We must concentrate not merely on the negative expulsion of war but on the positive affirmation of peace. We must say that peace represents a sweeter music, a cosmic melody that is far superior to the discords of war.”

Leave a Reply

