pbandj1011

In Uncategorized on August 28, 2010 at 8:20 pm

apparently going to the farmer’s market without showering, or for that matter not having any concern for what you look like, means that there is a good chance you will be mistaken for a farmer. Mind if you were as out of it as I was then it will take you a while to realize what is happening.

It went something like this. After a late night, and not so great sleep, Phil and I woke up and ate breakfast while finishing a movie on Netflix. I then threw clothes on, pulled my dirty hair up in a tie and we headed out for the Chester farmer’s market. Upon arrival I went to the first stand where I found green beans.  I was simply standing there contemplating how many I needed, when two older women walked up to me. I had just reached up to grab a plastic bag (terrible I know) when one of the women said “I need a bag” and looked at me. So I handed her the bag not thinking much of it. I went to grab another bag, having given away my own, when the other woman reached out her hand towards me and took the bag. I became confused. Why were these women taking my bags. It finally dawned on me that these women thought I was working the produce stand. My first thought was to laugh at it. My second thought was that perhaps these two could have been a little nicer to the person they were seeking assistance from.

I finally managed to snag a bag of my own, which I promptly filled with a good amount of green beans. At this point one of the women looked at me, started to hand me her bag, and asked for green beans. I stared at her for a moment and finally said “I’m sorry, but I don’t work here.” She looked utterly annoyed, turned away from me, and loudly asked for help from someone who did work there. I walked away laughing. In fact, dirtiness and all I take it as a compliment to be mistaken for a farmer, because they are great.

The great, minor, tragedy of the day was that by the time we arrived the Israeli women had sold out of their amazing flatbread. The good news is we got so many good and fresh fruits and veggies. Plums, peaches, peppers, corn, tomatoes, green beans, squash, zucchini, potatoes…and other wonders.

Shopping at the farmer’s market certainly changes the dynamics of how you buy things. It is not as easy to assume. Those women simply assumed I was a worker, and were not the nicest. I hope that they will become nicer as they begin to get used to buying their food from actual people versus a sign in a supermarket. Shopping so up close and personal definitely takes some getting used to, but I know it is good for me. It helps me practice patience while I wait for the one worker to be free to tell me how much the potatoes cost. It helps me assume less about my food, by my having to ask about how they grow their food. It makes me work on trusting people. Some people tell you their food is organic. And instead of demanding proof, which they might not be able to produce anyways, I get to work on trusting people and being a little less cynical.

Not a bad start to a Saturday.

Leave a Reply

