pbandj1011

tick tock.

In Uncategorized on November 2, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Time. I could write a whole blog about what I have been learning about time in the last six months. Specifically how I have discovered that some of the things I care about take a lot of time, and therefore have not gotten nearly as much attention as I thought they would in the midst of my 40+ hour work weeks, and Phil’s packed work/school/volunteer schedule.

With that said I consider it a success that this past Sunday afternoon Phil and I did venture out into our backyard to plant something in the beautifully plowed rows we have thanks to my Dad. We planted garlic, which is delightfully easy to plant (break garlic into cloves and put them about an inch below the surface- see I told you it was easy), and have great hopes that come May we will have a harvest of delicious, fresh garlic. In the midst of a hectic life, little by little I am getting better at reaching out into time and pulling it in a different direction than logic would me. I planted garlic with a cute boy, I woke up unnecessarily early to spend a leisurely hour and a half with the Creator, I started reading a non work related book (Our Babies, Ourselves), I blogged even though I should be in bed, I spent an afternoon making soup and cooking green beans when I should have perhaps been writing case notes, Phil and I stayed up late watching Harry Potter on a weeknight, I met a friend for my first yoga class in about a year.

Little things. But big things when you consider how time flies past us and overwhelms us with our “responsibilities”. Have I discovered some perfect balance to it all? No. I don’t believe in balance anyways. I don’t think it is something God designed for us to have. Instead I believe in grace and discernment. All those moments I mentioned above were times of grace in the midst of a hectic world that will have you go and go until you collapse or self-medicate to deal with it all. I believe in discernment from God to know when to go to your back yard and plant garlic and when to balance your checkbook instead…when to write case notes, and when to blow it off so you can make out with your husband.

I pray lots of grace and discernment to us all.

********************************************************************************************************* On a side, side note. Since this is my place to periodically vent:

How can it be possible that the American people are sending men like Rand Paul to Congress???????????????????????????? Seriously people. Bigtime sigh. If we elect Sharon Angle then I might just cry. Geez the Tea Party clocks my life.

Leave a Reply

