pbandj1011

ecstasy&laundry

In Uncategorized on August 15, 2012 at 12:30 pm

Vacation this year has more than exceeded my hopes and expectations. We are spending the week in Nags Head with Phillip’s family, and we are all nestled together for better or worse (mostly better) in a lovely home on the Sound Side. Time has felt slow, purposeful yet relaxed, and very sweet as Phillip and I spend time talking to our son. The weather has been the most beautiful I have ever experienced at the beach -breezy, low humidity, mid 80’s in temperature, and just the right amount of rain. Today I actually got chilled on the beach the weather was so calm. In response I did the only rational thing to do; I curled up in towels, accepted getting sand everywhere, and went to sleep for about an hour. I cannot remember exactly what I dreamed about but it involved all the people I could hear around me, their life stories, pain, beauty, and a lot of crying babies. It was a good dream. I woke up feeling refreshed and jazzed about this life we get to live, and also really needing to pee.

Upon our return to the beach house I checked my phone and was reminded that a dear friend of mine had gone to court today fighting to gain custody of her granddaughter. I felt rather shitty about having forgotten about her and her life situation, especially when just having time with her three days prior. As I sat praying for her, and the situation, my mind began to wonder to the two very different parts of life we are both in today. I recognized that I am heavily into Sabbath right now, and that it is okay to be there and not with her in the hard part of life. Yes, I need to grow in remembering to pray for my friends on my Sabbath…but for the most part what I need to be doing is resting in awe of how beautiful life (God) is. Sabbaths in the form of vacations are always great for pulling me back to heavy contemplation, to prayer, deep breaths, belly laughs, and to exultation in all things God has made.

The heaviness of friends hoping to win a nasty custody battle, the lightness of sitting on a porch under the stars-staring at the water all around- they are both places we will find ourselves with God. They are both places of worship, surrender, and faith.

The Sabbath and ALL the rest (either hard or easy) are sure to come around again and again. I am thankful for these cycles because they always prepare for the next…so long as we take deep breaths and resolve to be at peace in whichever phase of the life-moon we find ourselves in. Phillip and I bought a journal soon after learning we were pregnant and have been writing to him since. Just yesterday I wrote to him about the pull to be several places at once, and how easy it will be to not be fully present where you are because you are so busy thinking about all the other places you could be. I encouraged him to allow himself to be fully present always, because if he is following God then he will always be just where he is meant to be. Whether at the beach or in a courtroom.

I came across a good quote today. It read “After Ecstasy then Laundry”.

So true.

I am glad for a break from the laundry. But I will say a prayer for all those putting in a second load as we speak.

Leave a Reply

