pbandj1011

good news

In Uncategorized on November 8, 2009 at 10:02 am

Good news in my life lately:

1. I am not dying…I just have an illness that takes a long time to go away.

2. I am loved and chosen by God…and he/she intends to rescue me from myself. Sanctification, thank God for it. Literally.

3. I actually did homework on a Saturday. I went to the library and made significant progress on one of the three papers I have to write this weekend.

4. I have a husband who loves me.

5. My husband, who loves me, is teaching our Sunday school class without me so that I can sit in Starbucks and continue typing away.

6. No matter how poor we become God always finds amazing and interesting ways of providing. Whether it is a gift card in the mail or running into a family member who at the end of dinner apologizes for not attending your wedding and hands you fifty dollars; it is always there. Thanks yet again Lord.

7. Whether or not I have more papers or projects than I want to even consider…my semester is almost over. That means only one semester left!

8. I have an amazing supervisor at work. She calls me when I am sick and tells me to take as much time off as needed. She buys me dinner and coffee. She doesn’t have to do this. When all of us have had a rough day she hands us interns $20 and tells us to go buy a drink. Every week she teaches me more about being the kind of social worker that truly organizes for change and empowers others. She can cuss like a sailor. I love it.

9. I have good friends…and most of them seem to be doing pretty okay.

10. I’m making some new friends. It is always a blessing to meet people with whom you can connect with on a deeper level.

11. A healthcare bill passed the house last night. It did not have provisions for federally funded abortions.

12. In about a month I will be a quarter century old. I’m pretty excited. I love getting older. I love learning to love all the gray hairs I already have. I am thankful for having a better sense of myself…and I look forward to this growing over time as God reveals it to me slowly but surely  with each passing year.

13. At the beginning of the day, throughout it, at the end of it…wherever I or you am at, there is always hope. I can feel it, and it keeps me going.

Leave a comment